Rashi or Moon sign of the native is categorized based on the Janam Nakshatra of the native. Every Nakshatra has 4 padas. Some Nakshatras are partly categorized under two different Rashis.


 S. No.

Moon Sign



Aries (Mesha Rashi)Ashwani Nakshatra, Bharani Nakshatram, Krittika
Nakshatra 1 pada


Taurus (Vrishabha Rashi)Krittika Nakshatra 2, 3, and 4th padas, Rohini
Nakshatram, Mrigasira Nakshatra 1, 2 padas


Gemini (Mithuna Rashi)Mrigasira Nakshatra 3, 4 padas, Arudra Nakshatram,
Punarvasu Nakshatra 1, 2, 3 padas


Cancer (Karka Rashi)Punarvasu Nakshatra 4 pada, Pushyami Nakshatra,
Aslesha Nakshatram 1,2,3,4 Padas


Leo (Simha Rashi)Magha Nakshatra, Pubba Nakshatram or Purva Falguni
Nakshatra, Uttara Nakshatra 1 pada


Virgo (Kanya Rashi)Uttara or Uttara Falguni Nakshatra 2, 3, 4 padas, Hastha
Nakshatram, Chittha Nakshatra 1, 2 padas


Libra (Tula Rashi)Chittha Nakshatra or Chitra Nakshatra 3, 4 padas, Swathi
Nakshatram, Visakha Nakshatra 1, 2, 3 padas


Scorpio (Vrischika)Visakha Nakshatra 4 pada, Anuradha Nakshatra, Jyeshta
Nakshatram 1, 2, 3 padas


Sagittarius (Dhanu Rashi)Moola Nakshatra, Purvashada Nakshatram,
Uttarashada Nakshatra 1 pada


Capricorn (Makara Rashi)Uttarashada Nakshatram 2, 3, 4 padas, Shravana
Nakshatra, Dhanishta Nakshatram 1, 2 padas


Aquarius (Kumbha Rashi)Dhanishta Nakshatram 3, 4 padas, Shatabhisha
Nakshatra, Purvabhadra Nakshatra 1, 2, 3 Padas


Pisces (Meena Rashi)Purvabhadra Nakshatra 4 pada, Uttarabhadra
Nakshatram, Revati Nakshatra


What is Nakshtra and Their Names

Nakshatra (Sanskrit: नक्षत्र, IAST: Nakṣatra) is the term for lunar mansion in Hindu astrology. A nakshatra is one of 28 (sometimes also 27) sectors along the ecliptic. Their names are related to the most prominent asterisms in the respective sectors.

The starting point for the nakshatras according to Vedas is “Krittika” (it has been argued because the Pleiades may have started the year at the time the Vedas were compiled, presumably at the vernal equinox), but, in more recent compilations, the start of the nakshatras list is the point on the ecliptic directly opposite to the star Spica called Chitrā in Sanskrit, which would be Ashvinī, an asterism that is part of the modern constellation Aries, and these compilations, therefore, may have been compiled during the centuries when the sun was passing through the area of the constellation Aries at the time of the vernal equinox. This version may have been called Meshādi or the “start of Aries”.

The first astronomical text that lists them is the Vedanga Jyotisha.

In the Atharvaveda (Shaunakiya recension, hymn 19.7) a list of 28 stars or asterisms is given, many of them corresponding to the later nakshatras:

  1. Kṛttikā (the Pleiades)
  2. Rohinī (Aldebaran)
  3. Mrigashīrsha
  4. Ārdrā (Betelgeuse)
  5. Punarvasu
  6. Pushya
  7. Asleshā
  8. Maghā (Regulus)
  9. Purva phalguni
  10. Uttara phalguni (Denebola)
  11. Hasta
  12. Chitrā (Spica)
  13. Svāti (Arcturus)
  14. Vishākhā
  15. Anurādhā
  16. Jyeshthā
  17. Mūla
  18. Purva ashadha
  19. Uttara ashadha
  20. Shravana
  21. Dhanishta
  22. Satabhishak (Sadachbia)
  23. Purva bhadrapada
  24. Uttara bhadrapada
  25. Revati
  26. Ashvini
  27. Bharani