Sankashti Chaturthi, Sankashti Chaturthi 2018 

Sankashti Chaturthi 2018

In India Sankashti Chaturthi during Magha month is known as Sakat Chauth. Vinayaka Chaturthi during Bhadrapada month is known as Ganesha Chaturthi. Ganesha Chaturthi is celebrated as the birthday of Lord Ganesha.

Each lunar month in Hindu calendar has two Chaturthi Tithi. The one after full moon during Krishna Paksha is known as Sankashti Chaturthi and the one after Amavasya or new moon during Shukla Paksha is known as Vinayaka Chaturthi.

 

Date Month Day Festival Moonrise Timings
05 January (Friday) Sankashti Chaturthi

Sakat Chauth

21:23
03 February (Saturday) Sankashti Chaturthi 21:08
05 March (Monday) Sankashti Chaturthi 21:48
03 April (Tuesday) Angarki Chaturthi 21:27
03 May (Thursday) Sankashti Chaturthi 21:59
02 June (Saturday) Sankashti Chaturthi 22:19
01 July (Sunday) Sankashti Chaturthi 21:40
31 July (Tuesday) Angarki Chaturthi 21:30
30 August (Thursday) Sankashti Chaturthi

Bahula Chaturthi

21:14
28 September (Friday) Sankashti Chaturthi 20:30
27 October (Saturday) Sankashti Chaturthi

Karwa Chauth

19:55
26 November (Monday) Sankashti Chaturthi 20:33
25 December (Tuesday) Angarki Chaturthi 20:29

Devotees of Lord Ganesha keep fast from sunrise to moonrise on Sankashti Chaturthi 2018. Sankashti means deliverance during troubled times. Lord Ganesha, the supreme lord of intelligence, symbolizes the remover of all obstacles. Hence it is believed that one can get rid of all obstacles by observing this fast.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.