Nine Planets in Vedic astrology

In Hindu Astrology there are nine planets or Grahas. These include Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Sun, Moon, Saturn Rahu and Ketu, which are astronomical points formed where the moon’s orbit intersects the apparent path of the Sun around the earth.  Each planet is considered to be having masculine, feminine or neutral characteristics as well.

Grahas and their equivalents in Western Astrology

Indian GrahasWestern NamesSex
RahuDragon’s HeadFeminine
KetuDragon’s TailNeutral


Rahu and Ketu

The Moons apparent path intersects the ecliptic obliquely at two points called the nodes. The point where the Moon crosses the ecliptic from south to north is called the ascending node or Rahu, where it crosses the ecliptic from north to south is called descending node or Ketu. These two points are 180 degrees apart and their movement is constantly retrograde, meaning, against the normal direction of movement of planets. Rahu and Ketu are given special status and considered as planets in Indian astrology. But they are not included in Western Astrology. Rahu and Ketu take approximately eighteen years and ten days to complete one round of the zodiac.

Grahas’ Relationships

Each planet or Graha considers another planet as friend, enemy or equal. Some relationships are not mutual, for example, while one planet considers another as a friend, the second planet, in turn, may not see the first one as a friend. Mercury and Moon are examples.

Grahas (Planets)FriendsEqualsEnemies
SunMoon, Mars, JupiterMercuryVenus, Saturn, Rahu
MoonSun, MercuryMars, Jupiter, Venus, SaturnRahu
MarsSun, Moon, JupiterVenus, SaturnMercury, Rahu
MercurySun, Venus, RahuMars, Jupiter, Saturn,Moon
JupiterSun, Moon, MarsSaturn, RahuMercury, Venus
VenusMercury, Saturn, RahuJupiter, MarsSun, Moon
SaturnMercury, Venus, RahuJupiterSun, Moon, Mars
RahuMercury, Venus,SaturnJupiterSun, Moon, Mars
KetuMercury, Venus, Saturn, RahuJupiterSun,Moon, Mars